A Priest’s Responsibility

Hello everybody,

Last week, after posting my anger about my fellow Pagan’s lack of responsibility and – obiousely – opinion I was desperately looking for somebody to proove me wrong, as you may remember. So I spent the best part of that evening strolling around pagan chatrooms talking to people until I finally met a girl I liked pretty much and that seemed to be sympathetic. We talked a little bit about the issue though not as much as I’d liked to.

However, today, checking the incoming traffic of my blog, I found her’s of which’s exictence she didn’t even tell me as a referer and – to my surprise – a post about our talk nearly a week ago. It seems to have really sticked in her mind:

It appears that there are no pagans who feel that they have to say something. Just like she did, I ask myself, why is that? And also, what am I like when it comes to this?
I haven’t really found any answers.

she writes. And she goes on about the lack of something to say being a problem of our generation:

[…] and I know that the average 20-something year-old (in Germany) is in no way interested in Politics.

Sarah’s right. Woefully. What used to be the so-called “Generation No Future” finally had to face the fact that there is a future to cope with despite acid rain, Nostradamus and global warming. Which, unfortunately, didn’t change a lot about its behaviour towards it. In Addition it seems like the little political interest and uprising our generation had during its adolescence in the 1990ies has nearly completely vanished. And for the so far biggest wave of re-discovered paganism took place within exactly this group of youngsters – now adults and often mommies and daddies – it’s little for a wonder that there are so little political active pagans out there.

Yet Sarah touches another point in her entry:

What about this omnious responsibility? I remember a thread in the Magieportal Forum about how people who practise magic carry more responsibility for like everyone and everything around them. Bullshit if you ask me. I am responsible for me and only for me for the moment.

Is it as simple as that? Doesn’t it change anything whether we do magic or not?

I remember that one credo that’s said to have been that of the (ancient?) druids:

Be faithful to yourself, big in your deeds and brave facing things you cannot change.

Yes, standing up for your own is the first step. But what comes next? I personally think it depends on your objective. Do you want to be a simple believer as millions of christians or muslims or jews are or do you want to be a priest or a priestess? As a simple believer in Paganism you are asked to help when you are able to. As you are in pretty much every religion, for social work is a vocal point of what religion is for.

But do pagans make do with being a believer upon tousands? Not as I see them. Most of them, at least so it appears to me, do fancy for the office of a (high-)priest or a (high-)priestess. And now there you have to take a decision – which by the by is nothing exclusively being true for paganism – either you stick to your little-responsibilty place within your believe, which is perfectly okay, or, if you really want to take on the task of being a priest, you take the responsibility connected with it. Sarah’s talking about the broom closet so many pagans are still hiding in. Normal believers are open to do so though I would appreciate if some of them were more confident about what they beliefe in so paganism would become more normal in the face of our society. But priests? Have you ever seen a priest hiding in the broom closet? Perhaps in times where their faith is really being persecuted. But paganism isn’t, is it? At least not in middle europe.

So perhaps this is what it comes all down to: Taking the sugar cubes; the honor and the might of being a priest, but ignoring what comes with it; the responsibility towards other pagans and eventually other – human ot non-human – beings. A situation that, of course, can be found within every religion. But still it disgusts me and being pagan it especially disgusts me to see it within the pagan community for I want it to be different. Who wouldn’t?

Yet I am still regulary looking for Pagan blogs and I have found some, little, neat ones but nothing I’d want to put on my blogroll so far. However I am not gonna give up. There need to be crazy pagans like me out there who can’t hold their tongues and are craving for a network just as much as I am. And Sarah’s for sure a good begining for that task.

Migdalit

Leave a Reply

