“Darling, I am a Witch!”

Merry Meet,

being Pagan is, as far as I am concerned, a wonderful thing: It means being responsible first of all for one self, as Sarah put it in words in her blog recently:

For us the gods are something like guides. It almost seems that religion in paganism is, first and foremost concerned with personal growth so what good would it do to have a god who would just be nice even if we screwed up? I mean, yes, there are that kind, “parent gods” and maybe you need them at times. But then, if you want to grow you need tasks as well and a god who sets them.

Yet of course being responsible for yourself requires you to be rather strong and self-conscious. In fact there are some Pagan teachers (every kind from “guru” to “parent-” or “siblinglike” can be found) that would require their students to have a secure rooting in “worldly” spheresbefore they can enter the realms of the magic. A prerequisite that can also be found for Kaballah students– and I guess in many other places – too where whoever wants to become a student of Kaballlah has to be of about fourty years age or older, financially independant and a parent as only those circumstances will allow him or her to be earthed enough to be able to deal with the strong and potentially dangerous energies and wisdomof Kaballah. I have no idea whether that applies to Hollywood-Kaballah too, yet this is the version I was told in Israel where Madonna and collegues are in generally looked at a little … sceptical (as you might imagine).

Fellow Pagans sometime look a bit puzzled (sometimes even funny) when I tell them I am not forcing “magic” abilities at the moment for I am just too concerned with worldly things such as my career and, well, just being young and enjoying life. I know the Pagan 101, both concerning techniques and ethnics, and that’s it for the moment and I am happy with it. Maybe one day when I will have grown older and have settled down (which would include stopping changing countries on a two-year basis or so *g*) I might sit down and exercise or bury myself in literature searching for whatever I think is important. And who knows maybe by the time my hair has grown grey (which with my genetics could take some decades) I will also start teaching. If I can get a whole new generation of Pagans started with my crazy ideas about Paganism, why not?

Yet not now. Not today. Today the only thing I mess around with is Pagan Politics😉 You already know my point of view if you’ve been reading my blog from its beginnings: I just don’t see why every Pagan needs to be a high priest (or worse). Unfortunately that makes it hard to share my way of life with fellow Pagans for many of them regard my lack of (Pagan) ambitions as a sign of fear or lack of strenght and talents. It’s one of those things where people need to get to know you first but that takes some time and you don’t always feel like taking that time. It’s just a pain in the ass if you either keep your mouth shut or have to defend yourself every time you meet new Pagans.

People always tell you if somebody’s worth it, he will accept what’s different about you. Of course that applies to the mere fact of being Pagan too. Yet if you fall in love with that guy-next-door it doesn’t make things any less difficult at all. Telling him that you are Pagan and that Paganism means something to you and that, yes, you do believe in magic, still resembles the classical TV-series or movie-situation of “Oh darling, there’s something you need to know: I’ am witch.” Even without the broomstick. You know it’s true that if he can’t live with it he’s not the right one anyway but all those great advises don’t change a thing about the fact that you might be hurt badly by a person you love. And there’s no worse feeling in the world then being let down by your friends just because you told them you were Pagan and now they think something’s wrong with you for you are a little backwards believing in magic and so on.

I always try to tell new friends as soon as possible, mostly colloquial while in some discussion that comes close to the topic, without making a huge thing about it. It’d be something like “you know, I believe in magic too, why not?”. Funny enough I have experienced that often enough about ten minutes later we have found out that that person’s either Pagan too or thinks it’s a really interesting way of life or at least doesn’t care too much. It seems we naturally get along best from the first minutes with those people that have a similar general idea of life and how it works. Actually there’s not a single friend in my life at the moment who thinks I am nuts– which I am, no doubt about that – because I believe in the “extranatural” (which I consider the most natural thing in the world …).

Israeli Jews, by the by, are great with Pagans. At least those I met. Most of them are so grateful for the fact that you aren’t Christian that it doesn’t even cross their mind to regard you as some kind of “evil witch” or “savage” or so. Once I met an ex-orthodox-Jew-friend of a friend of mine and we where out eating (unkosher) seafood at the port when my friend, who always considered me being Pagan “cool” said: “You know, Migdalit’s a Pagan!”. What came next was that it took us the best part of an hour to convince him that I didn’t believe in Jesus Christ (well, I do regard him as a great philosopher but that’s about it) we never got to the point of him understanding what a “Pagan” was. Most people are really curious about Paganism in Israel and as bad as it is, I feel more religiousely free and understood within the Jews of Israel then within the Christians of Europe. If I think about where I would like my kids to grow up with no Pagan state to run to: Israel or Europe I’d absolutely opt for Israel, though it’s not the country that supports our way of life on an energetic level. Sad, I know. But who knows: Perhaps Austria too has opened up by the time I have kids; there are so many of us out there by now

see you soon

yours,

Migdalit

Leave a Reply

