“Friends”

Hey there,

so I still haven’t commented on the “Gaza Crisis” or “Gaza War” that has already been addressed as “Channukah War”by some bloggers. What I did do meanwhile is I started wearing my small Hamsa-pendant againwhich I got as a gift one and a half year ago at a kibbutz at Gaza’s northern boarder when travelling the region surrounding the Gaza strip. Back then it was given to me by a rather nationalist by good-souled Israeliwho was pretty superstitious and wanted to have us protected from Qassam rockets hitting the region even back then – it was a couple of month after Hamas’ takeover of Gaza. When I returned from Israel I would wear the thing day and night as a reminder of my time in Israel as much as because I figured out thatif it protected me from Qassamim it’d easily protect me from everything I could possibly be confronted with back in Middle Europe. So basically I became that European Pagan wearing a Hamsa instead of the Pentacle you might expect. And in fact up to today I always have a Hamsa hanging in my home; it just doesn’t feel complete and homely without one though I don’t really feel the symbol would protect me; it’s more of the memories connected with it that comfort me.

Anyhow I switched it with another pendant, connected with some other memory, just some month ago but when I came back from my holiday and found Israel at war I felt I had to wear it again. In fact for the very first time I even considered wearing that small silver Star of DavidI bought at Yad Vashem for the idea of “perhaps feeling like wearing it one day or the other”. I have worn it only once and only for a couple of hours, I guess mostly because I wanted to know how it felt wearing it. So I am wearing my Hamsa again and I will likely keep doing so until Gaza and Southern Negev residents have left their safe rooms and bomb shelters and the IDF soldiers are safely back home with their families.

As I ambrabbeling all this minimal-interesting nonsense I am watching CNN’s broadcast on Israel moving into Gaza. I started doing so a couple of hours ago instead of watching a neat movie and looking at the same and same clips over and over something curious struck me: This was actually pro-Israeli! Being used topeople criticising Israel– though I have been subject to that way less the other bloggers obliviously – firstly it was really refreshing hearing CNN London’s moderator empathising Israel’s point of view over and over. It feels good having her speak up against some Palestinian Fatah-politicianwho’s talking all that bunch of nonsense about Hamas being ready for a ceasefire (“But we didn’t see them stop the rocket fire at Israel. If they wanted a ceasefire why didn’t they just stop?”) going as far as the Fatah-guy disappearing in the telephone’s disconnected beeps. Damn, it does sure feel great hearing that! Though hard to believe that there might finally be a friend of Israel’s in the international media landscape.

But then after an hour or so something else attracted my interest: I wasn’t hearing a single Palestinian voicethat wasn’t nothing save ridiculous. All those Arab and Palestinian representatives interviews were exactly what your random Israeli ultra-right-winger would discribe to you, they were loud and aggressive and what they said just wouldn’t make any sense while CNN’s host was clearly dominating every of the interviews. Meanwhile whenever the same host would talk to an Israeli representative she wouldn’t ask any questions that could possibly put them in serious trouble. And believe me: There’d be more then enough of that. As much as I hated to admit it to myself I had to accept that in fact CNN was not the “Good Samarian” to Israel but rather doing just what I had always considered it doing for the US: They were broadcasting plain propaganda. Pro-Israel propaganda, for what ever reason.

It gets worse then that: Imagine watching CNN’s not all too neutral broadcasting being pro-Palestinian. You needn’t be all to extremely pro-Palestinian – not like the demonstrators shouting “allahu akbar” and “Israel Terrorist” in my hometown today – to spot propaganda there. And if Israel needs propaganda it sure doesn’t look all to good to all of those already a little concerned with Israel’s alleged human rights issues.In fact this is the best any Zionist-World-Conspiracy-weirdo could possibly hope for,for yes, it does look like somebody bribed CNN into supporting Israel. I wouldn’t, in fact, be surprised if that was the case yet not for the reason of the Zionist World Conspiracy or something that way but rather for mere (domestic?) political and commercial interests perhaps affiliated with the weapon’s industry or other evenly morale institutions.

So to me CNN is finally back to where it was a couple of hours ago: A nice source for those most important breaking news broken down to a single line of text and a couple of nice pictures but more then that mostly usable as comedy. Sometimes what seems to be a friend at the first glimpse turns out to be your worst enemyin the end. And vice versa.

I am sending by best wishes to the Southern Negev’s and Gaza’s residents along with the Israeli soldiers currently moving into Gaza and their families and hope from the depth of my heard that the battle will be over soon with the best possible outcomefor everybody involved. Well, everybody save Hamas, that’s a given.

regards,

Migdalit

5 comments

  1. I agree with your take on CNN.Our govt. tax-supported propaganda machine controls most television news coverage, which is why I turn to the net..and the U.S. government owns a good chunk of that as well.

  2. you’re talking about Hamsas / Khamsas, aren’t you? ^_^

    And yes, you do. Actually orthodox Christians use them too calling them the “Hand of Mary”; it’s really multi-religious. Anyhow some people to consider the symbol might derive from a proto-monotheistic symbol which’d go along with archaeological finds in the area.

  3. Yes that. In arabic they say “Khamsah” means five. I didnt know about christians.
    But it has five fingers to the five books of the Torah for Jews. “Hand of God” or Hand of Miriam, in reference to Miriam, the sister of Moses and Aaron (again jewish religion).
    Pillars of Islam is five too.They call it “eye of Fatima” in the name of Prophet’s daughter, Fatima Zahra. Also in Shi’a Islam as the five People of the Cloak. It’s widely used in Iran.
    And some say it will protect one against “evil eye” as you mentioned.

    Btw in the mideast, activists use it as symbol of peace between Islamic and Jewish faiths.

  4. Hi migdalit:

    I have been away for the holiday season since early December, still am, so haven’t had the change to update my blog. Probably won’t happen for the next couple of weeks.

    Sorry to hear about, and see so much upheaval in the news regarding Israel and Gaza.

    On previous comments and aspects of your post, I’d like to say a few things, which I had outlined several times in specific posts and comment sections of various posts on my blog.

    Judaism, Christinaity and Islam are all “Abrahamic” religions, hence semitic religions, in the mentioned order of coming into existence, each with their own “prophet”. Original Jews, Christians and Muslims in the mideast all belong to semitic races. Meaning: the mentioned religions have greatly influenced each other, in basic theology, certain customs, traditions in their mentioned order; with certain modifications occurring over the centuries.

    You are right about “hand of (Mary)” in Christianity. Here is one link:

    http://www.answering-islam.org/Silas/mary.htm

    I very much think the previous comment by Shahrzad comes from the link below. Here is a more complete version of it:

    “The Hamsa (Arabic: خمسة, Khamsa‎, literally “five”, Hebrew: חמסה, Khamsa‎) is a symbol used in amulets, charms and jewelry to protect against the “evil eye.” [1]

    An alternative Islamic name for this charm is the Hand of Fatima or Eye of Fatima, in reference to Fatima Zahra, the daughter of Muhammad. An alternative Jewish name is the Hand of Miriam, in reference to Miriam, the sister of Moses and Aaron. It is a kind of “protecting hand” or “hand of God”.

    Some associate the significance of the five fingers to the five books of the Torah for Jews, the Five Pillars of Islam for Sunnis, or the five People of the Cloak for Shi’ites. This symbolism may have evolved at a later stage, in view of the fact that archaeological evidence suggests the hamsa predates both religions. It is thought by some to have originated with the Phoenicians to honor Tanit who was a patron of Carthage. [2]

    In recent years some activists for Middle East peace have chosen to wear the hamsa as a symbol of the similarities of origins and tradition between the Islamic and Jewish faiths. The fingers can point up or down.”

    [http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hamsa] – “Qassam”.

    I do hope the conflict comes to a satisfactory resolution. It has been going on for too long over the decades. I also acknowledge that those of the Jewish faith, over the decades, if not centuries, unlike their Muslim brothers, have not actively enforced their religion, culture and way of life on non-Muslim. This particularly applies to Iran.

    P.S. – “Phoenicians” = “Phoenicia” what used to encompass Israel, Palestinian Territories and parts of the Lebanon, and including parts of today’s Egypt.

    “Carthage” = what used to be significant parts of today’s Tunisia.

Leave a Reply

